As of September 30 it is now illegal to send or read a text message while you're behind the wheel in Massachusetts. Violations of the texting while driving ban carry fines of $100 to $500. Texting bans are already in effect in Rhode Island and Connecticut.
In addition to banning texting, the new law bans all cell phone use for 16 and 17-year old junior operators, except in emergency situations. Junior operators who talk on cell phones – even hands free – face fines and license suspensions.
The law also requires drivers 75 and older to renew in person and take a vision test every five years.